Electronic News Division Business Meeting

August 7, 2018, 7 a.m., Meeting Room 2, Renaissance Washington, D.C. Downtown

IN-SESSION

Opening Remarks - Tony DeMars, Division Head

- Thank you to Jill Olmsted for arranging Bliss / Burkum site at NPR, for helping guide creation of Bliss perpetual plaque, and for arranging CBS tours.
- Bill Silcock for chairing Bliss Awards and continued END assistance.
- Tim Brown for chairing Burkum Awards.
- Kim Fox for organizing and running the pre-conference.
- Brant Houston and Gary Kebbel for support of the luncheon.
- All officers for your work on behalf of the division.

Budget - Tony DeMars, Division Head

- Budget as of July is \$8,751.
- Not expecting profit from the convention.
- Will be a cost for Bliss perpetual plaque. American University will pay \$500.

2022 Conference Location - Tony DeMars, Division Head

- Finalists: Chicago, Detroit, Indianapolis
- Some members express desire to not go to Chicago as frequently. Detroit's revitalization is mentioned as a positive. Indianapolis is touted as an under-the-radar destination.
- [VOTE] on 2022 conference location: DETROIT (18), Indianapolis (3), Chicago (0).

WJEC Announcement – Pascal Guenee

- World Journalism Education Congress will be held July 9-11, 2019 in Paris.
- Abstract deadline is September 15.
- More information at www.wjec.paris

Southeast Colloquium Report and Planning – Laura Smith, 2019 SE Colloquium Organizer

- 2019 Southeast Colloquium will be March 7-9 at the University of South Carolina.
- END will participate for the second straight year after not participating in 2016.
- Division typically sees few Colloquium submissions, leading to questions as to whether it is worth doing. Members discussed advantages of participating – visibility for the division and outreach to graduate students.

Conference Report – Lindsey Maxwell, Vice Head

- Panel partnerships were a success. END was able to secure seven panels by co-sponsoring with other divisions and interest groups.
- END also had one sole-sponsored panel.

Research Report and Awards – Karen McIntyre, Research Chair

- We received 28 paper submissions, accepting 14. Submissions were down from 2017 ("the Trump bump"), but consistent with prior years.
- Our 50% acceptance rate was in line with AEJMC's target.
- Only one student award was given this year due to a small number of accepted student papers.

Award winners

- Top Student Paper
 - Rehash or reset? Examining the intermedia agenda setting effect between
 Twitter and newspapers on climate change. Yan Su, Washington State.
- o Top Faculty Papers
 - [First Place] Real time political deliberation on social media: Can tele-vised debates lead to rational and civil discussions on broadcasters' Facebook pages? Lindita Camaj, Houston.
 - [Second Place] Small stations with big voices: Giving a microphone to communities through student-citizen collaborations. Deborah Chung, Mike Farrell, Kakie Urch, Yung Soo Kim, Kentucky.
 - [Third Place] Frames and sources of links in the climate discussion on Twitter, 2012-2015. J.A. Lavaccare, Kjerstin Thorson, Michigan State; Luping Wang, Cornell.

Electronic News Journal Report – Anthony Moretti, Editor

- Journal Annual Report has been shared to the Listserv.
- Bill Davie distributed Journal Task Force Report to members at the meeting.
- Moretti strongly encouraged us to continue publishing with Sage, rather than seeking selfpublishing options that were discussed the past few years.
- Task Force suggests lowering division dues by \$10 for one year to see if an increase in membership can offset budget losses.
- Lee Hood proposes decreasing dues by \$10 for two years to give enough time to see if it's working.
- Other task force suggestions are distributed in list form.
- [VOTE] on decreasing division dues by \$10 for two years: Hood makes motion to approve. Seconded. Motion to approve PASSES by acclamation.
- [VOTE] on renewing journal contract with Sage: Motion to approve. Seconded. Motion to approve PASSES by acclamation.

Division Name Change – Tony DeMars, Division Head

- AEJMC assigned all divisions four-letter acronyms. Ours "EEND" makes no sense.
- Members suggest changing the division name to include "Mobile" or "Social." They say owning "Mobile" could increase paper submissions, membership, and clarity as to what "Electronic News" means.
- Hood proposes holding a vote on an official name change at next year's business meeting.
- [VOTE] on considering a division name change, to be debated at voted on at the 2019 business meeting: Motion to approve. Seconded. Motion to approve PASSES by acclamation.

2017-2018 Officers – Tony DeMars, Division Head

- We need a bylaws committee chair. We also want to charge the Vice Head-Elect with serving as the division's diversity officer.
- Lee Hood is nominated for bylaws chair by Bill Silcock. Hood accepts nomination and is added to proposed slate.
- Slate of proposed new officers:
 - o Lindsey Maxwell, Southern Mississippi Head
 - o Karen McIntyre, Virginia Commonwealth Vice Head

- o Ken Fischer Vice Head-Elect
- o Dylan McLemore, Central Arkansas Secretary / News Editor
- o Harrison Hove, Florida Research Chair
- Maria Fontenot, Tennessee PF&R Chair
- o Maria Williams-Hawkins, Ball State Teaching Chair
- o Christoph Mergerson, Rutgers Membership Chair and Graduate Liaison
- o Bill Silcock, Arizona State Bliss Award Chair
- Nancy Dupont, Mississippi Burkum Award Chair
- o Tony DeMars, Texas A&M-Commerce RTDNA Liaison
- o Bill Davie, Louisiana Electronic News Journal Task Force Chair
- o Lee Hood, Loyola-Chicago Bylaws Committee Chair
- o Ginger Blackstone, Harding Southeast Colloquium Chair
- [VOTE] on new officers: Anthony Moretti makes motion to approve. Seconded. Motion to approve PASSES by acclamation.

ADJOURNED