Bylaw Amendments WITH APPROVED REVISIONS

AEJMC Convention, Minneapolis, MN

Electronic News Division Business Meeting, Aug. 5, 2016, Minneapolis, MN Submitted for approval: Amendment to the END bylaws Addition to Electronic News Division Bylaws a new Section 15 under Article IV to read as follows:

Article IV. Section 15. The Larry Burkum Service Award Committee chair shall be responsible for the selection, planning and presentation of the Division's award to an electronic journalist or journalism educator who has demonstrated extraordinary service to journalism and to journalism education. The award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Division, and honorees are required to attend and participate in the convention. Committee chair shall appoint a committee of no fewer than three members to serve 2-3 years to make the selection based on the approved guidelines below. Committee chair shall notify the winner or announce to the Division no winner was selected for that year.

Larry Burkum Service Award Guidelines:

The Larry Burkum Service Award is presented by the Electronic News Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. This award recognizes an electronic journalist or journalism educator who has demonstrated extraordinary service to journalism and to journalism education.

Honorees may be selected in one of two ways - either through nomination presented to the selection committee (comprised of past EN Division Heads and Burkum Award Winners), or directly by the committee itself. Both paths must follow the procedure outlined below. The EN Division is not obligated to name an honoree annually; the award may be conferred when an appropriate honoree is found, and if the committee finds none of the nominees is worthy of the award, the committee can elect not to confer the honor, however, as a general guideline, it is expected that an honoree would be named at least once every three years.

Criteria for nomination and selection include strong evidence of significant service contributions to journalism education and to the electronic news industry. Examples of service may include, but are not limited to the following exemplars: Heading a national organization dedicated to advancing journalism and journalism education. Publishing journalism focused work (e.g., articles for news industry related websites, textbooks, videos). Developing and administering foundations that assist journalism students and educators in their growth and development (e.g., scholarship, foundations, etc.). Leading educational initiatives within the nominee's industry (e.g., head of internship development for station group; running a student focused apprenticeship program, etc.). Research designed to help students and young journalists advance their career performance in journalism, and extraordinary service to the mission of the Electronic News Division.

The successful Burkum nomination packet will include a detailed, thorough letter of nomination; a complete resume/cv of the nominee; up to three supporting letters from educators/and/or colleagues, however, a statement by the nominee in support of his or her nomination should not be included. Nominations will remain active for three years.

The Burkum award selection committee shall be appointed by EN Division Head, and committee members shall serve 2-3 year terms. Nominations should be submitted to and compiled by the selection committee no later than February 1st. The committee shall review the nominations and announce the name of an award recipient (or that there is none) by May 1st before the annual convention in August.