The 2013 Robert P. Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award

Invitation to Apply

Nominations are now being accepted for the **2013 Robert P. Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award.** The Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award is presented to any individual or media organization that has made significant contributions to promoting diversity in scholastic media programs.

The award is named for Robert P. Knight, a professor in the University of Missouri School of Journalism who served as director of the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association from 1965 to 1992. Knight received the award in 1990.

To nominate a person or organization for the award, please do the following:

- E-mail or mail a nomination letter of one or two pages to Cheryl Pell at the address below.
- Include at least one, but no more than three letters from others who support the nomination.
- Please include the form below with this information: full name and title of nominee (or organization), email address, phone number, address, nominator's name, school or organization, email address and phone number,
- In addition, send a document or a link to a document that lists the nominee's
 achievements (i.e., a CV or résumé, a website link, or other appropriate information).

If sending materials by mail, please send them to:

Cheryl M. Pell School of Journalism Communication Arts & Sciences 404 Wilson Road, Room 302 Michigan State University East Lansing, MI 48824-1212

Email: pell@msu.edu Phone: (517) 884-4487 The deadline for materials to be submitted is April 1, 2013.

The award recipient will be chosen by an independent selection committee of AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division members and will be notified within two months of the award deadline by email. The award will be presented at the 2013 AEJMC Convention in Washington, D.C., Aug. 8-11.

Past Recipients

2012 - Illinois Press Foundation/Eastern Illinois University High School Jrn. Workshop

2011 - Joseph Selden, Pennsylvania State University

2010 - University of Arizona School of Journalism

2009 - Philadelphia Daily News

2008 - June O. Nicholson, Virginia Commonwealth University

2007 - Edward Mullins, University of Alabama

2006 - Ted Stanton, University of Houston

2005 - Chris Strudwick-Turner, Los Angeles Times

2004 - Diana Mitsu Klos, AEJMC High School Journalism Senior Project Director

2003 - Vanessa Shelton, University of Iowa

2002 - Walt Swanston, Radio and Television News Directors Foundation

2001 - Doris J. Giago, South Dakota State University

2000 - Linda Shockley, Dow Jones Newpaper Fund

1999 - Marie Parsons, University of Alabama

1998 - Lucy Ganje, University of North Dakota

1997 - San Diego Chapter, California Chicano News Media Association

1996 - Barbara B. Hines, Howard University

1995 - Diane Hall, Florida A&M University

1994 - Mary Arnold, The University of Iowa

1993 - Alice Bonner, The Freedom Forum

1992 - Richard Lee, South Dakota State University

1991 - Thomas E. Engleman, Dow Jones Newspaper Fund

1990 - Robert P. Knight, University of Missouri-Columbia

1989 - George Curry, Chicago Tribune

1988 - Craig Trystad, Youth Communication

1987 - Pittsburgh (Pa.) Black Media Federation

Name and title of nominee/organization		
Email address of nominee	Phone number ()	
Address	City State	ZIP
Name of nominator		
School or organization		
Email address of nominator	Phone number (