A Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
RSS icon Email icon Home icon
  • Accepting nominations for Robert P. Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award

    Posted on March 22nd, 2017 Teresa White, SJD secretary No comments

    By Joe Dennis • Piedmont College

    Nominations are being accepted for the 2016 ROBERT P. KNIGHT MULTICULTURAL RECRUITMENT AWARD. The Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award is presented to any individual or media organization that has made significant contributions to promoting diversity in scholastic media programs. The award is named for Robert P. Knight, a professor in the University of Missouri School of Journalism who served as director of the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association from 1965 to 1992. Knight received the award in 1990.

    Kimetris Baltrip, an assistant professor at the A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Kansas State University, received the award in 2016.

    To nominate a person or an organization for the 2017 award, please do the following:

    Mail or e-mail a nomination letter of 1 to 2 pages to Joe Dennis, the award chair. The mail and e-mail addresses are listed below. In addition to information about the nominee, please include the nominator’s name, title, school or organization, e-mail address and phone number. Multiple nomination letters are acceptable and recommended.

    In addition, send a document or a link to a document that lists nominee’s achievements with regard to promoting diversity in scholastic media programs. (i.e. A CV or résumé, a Web site link, or other appropriate information). The deadline is April 21, 2017.

    Please send nomination materials to:

    Joe Dennis

    Piedmont College

    P.O. Box 10

    Demorest, GA 30535

    E-mail: jdennis@piedmont.edu

    The award recipient will be chosen by an independent selection committee of AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division Members and will be notified within two months of the award deadline by e-mail. The award will be presented at the 2017 AEJMC Conference, which will be held in Chicago on Aug. 9-12.


    Past recipients

    2015 – George L. Daniels,  University of Alabama

    2014 – Steve O’Donoghue

    2013 – Linda Florence Callahan, North Carolina A&T State

    2012 – Sally Renaud, Eastern Illinois University

    2010 – University of Arizona School of Journalism

    2009 – Philadelphia Daily News, Editor Michael Days, and Philadelphia
    Urban Journalism Workshop

    2008 – June O. Nicholson, School of Mass Communications, Virginia
    Commonwealth University

    2007 – Ed Mullins, former Alabama dean and director of multicultural workshops

    2006 – Ted Stanton, University of Houston

    2005 – Chris Strudwick-Turner, Director of the Student Journalism Program for the Los Angeles Times

    2004 – Diana Mitsu Klos , AEJMC High School Journalism Senior Project Director

    2003 – Vanessa Shelton, University of Iowa

    2002 – Walt Swanston, Senior Project Director for Diversity and Education Programs, Radio and Television News Directors Foundation

    2001 – Doris J. Giago, South Dakota State University

    2000 – Linda Waller, Dow Jones Newpaper Fund

    1999 – Marie Parsons, University of Alabama

    1998 – Lucy Ganje, University of North Dakota

    1997 – San Diego Chapter, California Chicano News Media Association

    1996 – Barbara B. Hines, Howard University

    1995 – Diane Hall, Florida A&M University

    1994 – Mary Arnold, The University of Iowa

    1993 – Alice Bonner, The Freedom Forum

    1992 – Richard Lee, South Dakota State University

    1991 – Thomas E. Engleman, Dow Jones Newspaper Fund

    1990 – Robert P. Knight, University of Missouri- Columbia

    1989 – George Curry, Chicago Tribune

    1988 – Craig Trystad, Youth Communication

    1987 – Pittsburgh (Pa.) Black Media Federation

    Leave a reply