A Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
RSS icon Email icon Home icon
  • Call for nominations: David Adams Educator of the Year

    Posted on February 10th, 2017 Teresa White, SJD secretary No comments

    For Immediate Release February 1, 2017

    Nicole Kraft


    The David Adams SJD Educator of the Year Award

    Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 edition of the prestigious David Adams Scholastic Journalism Division Educator of the Year Award.

    This award, given annually during the association’s summer convention, recognizes a deserving division member for his/her outstanding performance in the college/university classroom, and in scholastic journalism workshops and conferences.

    Nominations shall consist of the following: • a letter of recommendation
    • two letters (maximum) of support
    • curriculum vitae

    Nominating letters should identify in a single page the various ways the nominee has made significant contributions to journalism in the secondary schools through his/her work in journalism and mass communication in higher education.

    Nominees must have been members of the Scholastic Division for the previous three years.

    Nominating letters and letters of support should be sent to Nicole Kraft at kraft.42@osu.edu. The deadline is April 15.

    PAST recipients

    • 2016 Nicole Kraft, The Ohio State University
    • 2015 Mary Arnold, South Dakota State University
    • 2014 John Bowen, Kent State University
    • 2013 Monica Hill, The University of North Carolina
    • 2012 Bruce Konkle, University of South Carolina
    • 2011 Judy Robinson, University of Florida
    • 2010 Barbara Hines, Howard University
    • 2009 L yle Olson, South Dakota State University
    • 2008 James Tidwell, Eastern Illinois University
    • 2007 John Hudnall, University of Kansas
    • 2006 Cheryl M. Pell, Michigan State University
    • 2005 Candace Perkins-Bowen. Kent State University
    • 2004 David Adams, Indiana University
    • 2003 Thomas Eveslage, Temple University
    • 2002 Richard Johns, University of Iowa
    • 2001 Jack Dvorak, Indiana University
    • 2000 Marilyn Weaver, Ball State University
    • 1999 Linda Putney, Kansas State University
    • 1998 Julie E. Dodd, University of Florida

    Leave a reply