THE PUBLIC RELATIONS DIVISION annual meeting was called to order at 8:30 p.m. August 11 by Division Head Teresa Mastin.

- 1) Minutes were reviewed and approved. Motion: Brenda Wrigley; second: Candace White.
- 2) Program Chair and Vice Head Chuck Lubbers reviewed the convention as well attended and urged the membership to submit ideas for the upcoming call for papers. High-density sessions were described; suggested the Division should publish a one-page handout for the high-density sessions.
- 3) Vice Head-Elect Bonita Neff distributed the Bill Adams/Edelman Luncheon sign-up sheet.
- 4) Teresa Mastin asked for nominations for vice head-elect. Michael Parkinson won the position by acclamation. Motion: Susan Gonders; second: Kirk Hallahan. Pat Swann won the position of secretary-treasurer by acclamation. Motion: Brenda Wrigley; second: Emma Daugherty Phillingane. Bey-Ling Sha won the position of elected delegate by acclamation. Motion: Don Stacks; second: Pam Bourland-Davis.
- 5) Doug Newsom identified the Past Heads Council recommendations for Division nominees for AEJMC standing committees. PF&R: Shannon Bowen, Amiso George, Brad Rawlins, William Thompson. Teaching: Pam Bourland-Davis, Barbara DeSanto, Candace White, Lynn Zoch. Research: Kirk Hallahan, Linda Hon, Chuck Marsh. Newsom also reported the past chairs

approved two sets of minutes and the by-

- 6) PF&R Chair Ernie Martin reported on four panels and the plenary session developed with other divisions.
- 7) Michael Parkinson reported on the reviewing of research papers and noted the overall acceptance rates of 48.2% for the open category, 46.2% for the student category, and 49% overall. Top papers were programmed in panels.
- 8) Tom Kelleher reported on the competition for teaching papers, which had an acceptance rate at 58% level (representing seven of 12 papers).
- 9) Discussion on reviewing via an electronic process was supported. Motion: Richard Nelson; second: Emma Daugherty Phillingane.
- 10) Roschwalb Award of \$275 went to Lan Ni, University of Maryland.
- 11) Heidi Hatfield Edwards discussed the Inez Kaiser Awards and thanked the 12 faculty sponsors.
- 12) Graduate Student Laision Lois Boynton noted e-mails were sent to the listserv for the Buddy Program. A survey of interest is being conducted.
- 13) Linda Hon, editor of the *Journal of Public Relations Research*, reported 39 submissions in 2004 and reminded the membership of the two special issues. Linda Bathgate from Erlbaum Publishers thanked Hon for her work. Linda Aldoory will be assuming responsibilities for the journal in January of 2006. There was some concern about recognition from indexing organizations.

- 14) Ken Plowman reported that *Teaching Public Relations* monographs are published in the newsletter and online.
- 15) Discussed the listing of advertising and public relations programs in the national publication compiled by Billy

## minutes MEETING

## **Bonita Dostal Neff**

bonita.neff@valpo.edu Valparaiso University

Ross. Richard Alan Nelson and Doug Newsom spoke in favor of supporting the Ross publication, noting no other such sources of information. Motion to spend \$100 to support project failed. Motion: Pat Curtin; second: Lois Boynton.

- 16) Membership Co-Chair Coy Callison announced the availability of a recruitment CD. "Why Join the Public Relations Division!" is also available on the Division Website.
- 17) Terry Rentner announced her department is sponsoring the communication technology summer conference in Bowling Green. The PR Division decided not to co-sponsor.
- 18) Membership supported Philadelphia as the preferred conference site in 2009. AEJMC subsequently decided on Boston.

The meeting adjourned at 9:48 p.m.