Committees

The division has a number of committees, all mostly chaired by full-time public relations faculty at colleges and universities across the United States.

Chair positions are not formally elected positions, but instead the individuals are volunteers from PRD who have a specific interest or expertise in the area. All members, including graduate students, are encouraged to get involved with any of the following committees.

  • Research: Organizes all paper submissions, conducts research paper competition.
  • Teaching: Organizes teaching paper competition, assists with division teaching goals.
  • PF&R: Helps to meet all professional freedom and responsibility goals for the division.
  • Membership: Coordinates with Head to set membership goals, develop membership materials, reach out to new members, and promote membership.
  • Professional Liaison: Helps link the division with practitioners and professional associations to enhance research, teaching, and professional development.
  • Graduate Student Liaison: Establishes opportunities to communicate with graduate students about the group, while helping promote student awards.
  • Student Awards: Manages the two student division awards.
  • Nominating Committee: Manages annual division elections.

See the Leadership page for more details about the main positions of division head, vice-head, vice head-elect, immediate past head and division secretary.

If you are interested in getting involved with a committee, please contact Emily Kinsky at ekinsky@wtamu.edu.

Full List of Committee Members:

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Emily KinskyDivision Head
Emily S. Kinsky
West Texas A&M University
ekinsky@wtamu.edu


waters_richard

Division Vice Head and Programming Chair
Richard Waters
University of San Francisco
rdwaters@usfca.edu


Vice Head Elect

Giselle A. Auger
Rhode Island College
Giselleauger@yahoo.com

 

Tiffany GallicanoImmediate Past Head
Tiffany Gallicano
University of North Carolina – Charlotte
tgallica@uncc.edu


Past Heads Council Chair
Susan Grantham
University of Hartford
grantham@hartford.edu

Secretary
Tim Penning
Grand Valley State University
penningt@gvsu.edu

Research
Chair: Lan Ni
University of Houston
lni@uh.edu

Vice Chair: Nathan Gilkerson
Marquette University
nathan.gilkerson@marquette.edu

Midwinter Research Chair
Juan Meng
University of Georgia
jmeng@uga.edu

Teaching Committee and Graduate Student Paper Competition
Chair: Lucinda Austin
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
lucinda.austin@unc.edu

Vice chair: Katie Place
Quinnipiac University
Katie.Place@quinnipiac.edu

Committee: Brigitta Brunner
Auburn University
brunnbr@auburn.edu

Michele Ewing
Kent State University
meewing@kent.edu

Professional Freedom & Responsibility Committee
Chair: Brooke Weberling McKeever
University of South Carolina
brookew@mailbox.sc.edu

Vice chair: Chris Wilson
Brigham Young University
chriswilson@byu.edu

Committee:

Lois Boynton
University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill
lboynton@email.unc.edu

LaShonda Eaddy
University of Georgia
lashonda.eaddy25@uga.edu

Hyejoon Rim
University of Minnesota
hrim@umn.edu

Rebecca Swenson
University of Minnesota
boli0028@umn.edu

Membership Committee
Chair: Hua Jiang
Syracuse University
hjiang07@syr.edu

Vice chair: Marlene Neill
Baylor University
Marlene_Neill@baylor.edu

Vice Chair Elect: Melanie Formentin
Towson University
mformentin@towson.edu

Committee:
Melissa Adams
North Carolina State University
mbadams4@ncsu.edu

COMMUNICATION TEAMS
Communication
Communication Manager: Geah Pressgrove
West Virginia University
Geah.pressgrove@mail.wvu.edu

Assistant Manager: Kathleen Stansberry
Cleveland State University
katiestansberry@gmail.com

Committee:

Lauren Auverset
University of Alabama
laauverset@crimson.ua.edu

Kelli Burns
University of South Florida
kburns@usf.edu

Ioana Coman
University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
comani@uwgb.edu

Yan Jin
University of Georgia
yanjin@uga.edu

Matthew Van Dyke
Appalachian State University
vandykems@appstate.edu

Listserv Manager
Denise Bortree
Penn State University
dsb177@psu.edu

PR Update Newsletter
Editor: Dean Mundy
University of Oregon
dmundy@uoregon.edu

Contributors:

Lois Boynton
University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill
lboynton@email.unc.edu

Cary Greenwood
Middle Tennessee State University
Cary.Greenwood@mtsu.edu

Leysan Khakimova Storie
Zayed University
leisank@gmail.com

Yuan Wang
University of Alabama
yuanwang0401@gmail.com

Brandi Watkins
Virginia Tech University
brandi1@vt.edu

Curtis Matthews
Kansas State University
cbmatthe@k-state.edu

Social Media Committee
Chair: Diana Sisson
Auburn University
dcs0016@auburn.edu

Vice chair: Melissa Janoske (also social media team’s website liaison)
University of Memphis
melissa.janoske@memphis.edu

Alan Abitbol
University of Dayton
aabitbol1@udayton.edu

Pamela Brubaker
Brigham Young University
pamela_brubaker@byu.edu

Matt Kushin
Shepherd University
mkushin@shepherd.edu

Stephanie Madden
University of Memphis
smadden1@memphis.edu

Ai Zhang
Stockton University
ai.zhang@stockton.edu

Website Committee
Chair: Kathleen Stansberry
Cleveland State University
katiestansberry@gmail.com

Vice Chair: Amber Hutchins
Kennesaw State University
ahutch13@kennesaw.edu

Committee:

Brigitta Brunner (teaching liaison)
Auburn University
brunnbr@auburn.edu

Kylah Hedding
University of Iowa
kylah-hedding@uiowa.edu

Melissa Janoske (social media team liaison)
University of Memphis
melissa.janoske@memphis.edu

Yi Luo
Montclair State University
luoy@mail.montclair.edu

Jeffrey S. Morosoff
Hofstra University
jeffrey.morosoff@hofstra.edu

AWARD COMMITTEES
Inez Kaiser Graduate Student of Color Award Committee
Chair: Candace Parrish
North Carolina Central University
Candace.Parrish@nccu.edu

Vice chair:
Eyun-Jung Ki
University of Alabama
ki@apr.ua.edu

Committee:

Ron Anderson
University of Texas at Austin
rba@austin.utexas.edu

Teri Del Rosso
Bridgewater State
tdelrosso@bridgew.edu

Arunima Krishna
Boston University
arunimak@bu.edu

Nicole Lee
North Carolina State
nmlee2@ncsu.edu

David Radanovich
High Point University
dradanov@highpoint.edu

Matt Ragas
DePaul University
mragas@depaul.edu

Doug Newsom Award for Global Ethics and Diversity Committee
Chair: Kevin Stoker
Texas Tech University
kevin.stoker@ttu.edu

Vice chair: Natalie Tindall
Lamar University
drnatalietjtindall@gmail.com

Committee member: Chuck Lubbers
University of South Dakota
clubbers@usd.edu

Judy VanSlyke Turk
Virginia Commonwealth University
jvturk@vcu.edu

Susanne A. Roschwalb Grant for International Study and Research Committee
Chair: Brian Smith
Purdue University
bgsmithphd@purdue.edu

Vice chair: Kelly Vibber
University of Dayton
Kvibber1@udayton.edu

Committee:

Peta Long *
Syracuse University
pclong@syr.edu

Patrick Merle
Florida State University
Patrick.Merle@cci.fsu.edu

Ashli Stokes
UNC Charlotte
aqstokes@uncc.edu

Yue Zheng
Cal State Northridge
yue.zheng@csun.edu

GRAD STUDENTS
Graduate Student Liaison Committee
Faculty Adviser: Julia Fraustino
West Virginia University
jdfraustino@mail.wvu.edu

Co-Chair (luncheon): Yuan Wang
University of Alabama
yuanwang0401@gmail.com
Ywang176@crimson.ua.edu

Co-chair (membership): Tiffany Schweickart
University of Florida
tschweickart@ufl.edu

Jennifer Harker
University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill
jlharker@live.unc.edu

Mila Khalitova
University of Florida
mila.khalitova@ufl.edu

Stephanie Mahin
University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill
Stephanie_mahin@unc.edu

Barbara Myslik
University of Florida
bmyslik@ufl.edu

BaoBao Song
University of Florida
baobaos@ufl.edu

SOCIAL
Social Event Committee
Chair: Amanda Kennedy
St. Mary’s University
akennedy4@stmarytx.edu

Vice chair: Holly Ott
University of South Carolina
HOTT7@mailbox.sc.edu

Committee:

Lindsey DiTirro *
Southern Indiana
lditirro@purdue.edu

Brooke Fowler
University of Maryland
bmfowler28@gmail.com

Nell Huang Horowitz
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
nhorowitz@cpp.edu

Laura Lemon
University of Tennessee
llemon1@vols.utk.edu

LIAISONS TO OTHER ORGANIZATIONS
PRSA Liaisons

Carolyn Kim
Biola University
carolyn.kim@biola.edu

Julie O’Neil
Texas Christian University
j.oneil@tcu.edu

Commission for Public Relations Education Representatives
Hongmei Shen
San Diego State University
hshen@mail.sdsu.edu

Ken Plowman
Bringham Young University
Kenneth_Plowman@byu.edu

PUBLICATION TEAMS
Journal of Public Relations Research

Editor: Bey-Ling Sha
San Diego State University
bsha@mail.sdsu.edu

Senior Associate Editor: Hilary Fussell Sisco
Quinnipiac University
hfsisco@quinnipiac.edu

Associate Editor: Sung-Un Yang
Indiana University
yang223@indiana.edu

Journal of Public Relations Education
Editor: Chuck Lubbers
University of South Dakota
clubbers@usd.edu

Associate Editor: Emily S. Kinsky
West Texas A&M University
ekinsky@wtamu.edu

Website Manager: Robert French
Auburn University
Frencro@auburn.edu