The Deadline Doth Approach – PR Division Call for Papers

Reminder #1: Paper Deadline

The Public Relations Division invites submissions of original papers that advance the theories and practices of public relations. Submitters should carefully review the specific submission instructions published in the winter issue of PR Update

Submission Categories: A paper may be submitted in one of the five PRD categories this year: (1) open, (2) student, (3) teaching, (4) Newsom Award, or (5) PR History Award.

Top Papers: Monetary awards are given for the top three papers in the teaching, open and student categories. Thanks to a generous gift from Dennis Wilcox, Professor Emeritus, San Jose State University, top papers in open and teaching categories will be awarded: $750 for the top paper, $500 for the second-place paper, and $250 for the third-place paper. Top teaching papers will also receive expedited review in the Journal of Public Relations Education, provided they are submitted by December 31, 2017. Thanks to the generous support of The Plank Center for Leadership in Public Relations at the University of Alabama, the first author of each of the top three student research papers will receive $300, $200, and $100, respectively.

Winnters of The Doug Newsom Award and PR History Award each receive $250.

Questions? Please contact Research Chair Lan Ni, University of Houston, or

Vice Chair Nathan Gilkerson, Marquette University,

Reminder #2: We still need reviewers

To participate as a reviewer, you must be a faculty member. Graduate students are not eligible to serve as reviewers. You will not be assigned to review in categories in which you have submitted papers for the competition.First, please sign up at AllAcademic:

Even though you may have done this service last year, the AllAcademic website is unique each year and you must sign up for this year to serve as a reviewer. Time is running out.

In order to assign papers that best match your areas of topical and methodological expertise, please click the following link for our reviewer interest survey:

Reminder #3: Roschwalb Call

Call for Applications

Applications are now being accepted for the Susanne A. Roschwalb Grant for International Study and Research. This award is intended for both graduate and undergraduate students in public relations whose plans include study or research outside of the United States. The grant, awarded annually by the Public Relations Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), provides the winning student with $250 to offset the cost of travel associated with international study or research.

Award Criteria

Full-time undergraduate and graduate students majoring in or emphasizing in public relations at four-year colleges and universities in the United States are eligible to apply.

Application Process

Applicants must provide a one-page description of their intended international program of study or research, a letter of support from a full-time public relations faculty member, and the completed application form (


Deadline for receipt of applications is May 1, 2017 at 5 p.m. (EDT), for international study or research during the 2017-2018 academic year. The Roschwalb Grant Committee will notify the winner no later than June 1, 2017.

Reminder #4: VOTE

AEJMC voting has opened; you should have received an email with that ballot link. We wanted to point out several of our PR Division members who are running.

Publications Committee: Pat Curtin and Karen Miller Russell

Research Committee: Kay Colley, Jae-Hwa Shin and Richard Waters. Teaching Committee: Brigitta Brunner

Please support our fellow PRD members as they seek leadership roles within AEJMC!

The deadline to vote online is April 3.

Profiles of those running can be found here:

Leave a Reply