Susanne A. Roschwalb Grant for International Study and Research

Students in public relations or mass communication programs whose plans include study or research of public relations and how the field interacts with society outside the United
States are encouraged to apply for the Susanne A. Roschwalb Grant for International Study and Research, awarded annually by the Public Relations Division since 1996 and currently matched by the Mass Communication and Society Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication in a 3-year trial partnership.

The grant is intended to offset a portion of the cost of travel associated with international study involving research of public relations topics. The deadline for receipt of applications generally occurs in May for international study or research during the following academic year.

Applicants must provide a description of their intended international program of
study or research, contact information for a full-time public relations or mass communication faculty member willing to serve as a reference, and a completed
application form.

Award Criteria
Full-time undergraduate and graduate students majoring in or emphasizing public relations or mass communication at four-year colleges and universities in the United States are eligible to apply. Applications will be judged in part on the quality of expected contribution to PR scholarship.

Deadline for receipt of applications is May 15, 2018, at 5 p.m. (EDT), for international study or research during the 2018-2019 academic year. The Roschwalb Committee will notify the winner no later than June 1, 2018, and will award the check to the recipient at the PRD business meeting in Washington, D.C. The winner will be expected to submit a brief summary of his/her research efforts aided by the grant to PR Update (the PRD newsletter) once they are complete.

Award History
The award was established in 1996 to honor the memory of Susanne A. Roschwalb, an Associate Professor at American University, public relations practitioner, and active member of the AEJMC Public Relations Division until her death in 1996 at age 56 from complications related to breast cancer.

Susanne A. Roschwalb Committee
Chair: Brian Smith, Ph.D.
Purdue University

Vice chair: Kelly Vibber
University of Dayton

Committee Members:

Peta Long *
Syracuse University

Patrick Merle
Florida State University

Ashli Stokes
UNC Charlotte

Yue Zheng
Cal State Northridge

Susanne A. Roschwalb Grant Donation Information
We need your financial help in continuing this worthwhile award as the award
fund has been substantially depleted in recent years. Tax-deductible contributions
in any amount may be given via the following link

This is a general AEJMC form that is used for fundraising efforts. When completing the form, please designate the category that you wish to give by selecting “Other” in the “Contribution Choice” pull down menu. Then, write in “PRD Roschwalb Award.” You must write in the choice for the donation to support the Roschwalb Award.

Tax-deductible contributions in any amount may also be sent to:
Attn: Kathy Bailey
234 Outlet Point Blvd.
Suite A
Columbia, SC 29210-5667

Please make the check payable to AEJMC and note on the memo line of your check that it is for the Roschwalb Grant. Thank you!

Questions? E-mail the Roschwalb Committee listed above.
Thank you for your support!