Top Paper Awards

To acknowledge research excellence, the MCS Division provides cash awards and waives one AEJMC conference registration fee for the top four winners in each research paper competition (Open, Student, Moeller). All MCS research submissions, regardless of faculty or student authorship, are judged together as general papers. However, the top papers in the Open and Student categories are recognized separately. At least one author of each winning paper is asked to attend the MCS business meeting to receive their awards.

Student Competition: Graduate and undergraduate students are invited to submit original research regarding any topic related to mass communication and society. For a paper to be considered for a student paper award, all of the authors must be students. The paper must be submitted to the Student Competition category online. A faculty member as co-author automatically moves the paper to the Open Competition.

Moeller Student Paper Competition: Students who submit a paper written for a class during the previous year are eligible for the Mass Communication and Society Moeller Student Paper Competition. Moeller Competition papers must be nominated by the faculty member who taught the class. To nominate a student paper, the faculty should send the research chair(s) an email verifying that the paper was completed for a class. Papers submitted for the Moeller Competition must clearly note the competition on the title page. Please remember that the Moeller Competition is separate from our Student Paper Competition. The paper must be correctly submitted to the Moeller Competition category online.

Open Competition: All other papers submitted to the Division will be reviewed in the Open Competition.


2016 Winners

Top Faculty Paper

Collin Berke, Travis Loof, Rebecca Densley, Eric Rasmussen, Justin Keene, Texas Tech University for “Co-viewing as Social Facilitation of Children’s Cognitive Processing of Educational Television Content.”

Top Student Paper

Nathian Rodriguez, Texas Tech University for “Negotiation of Sexual Identity in Gay On-Air Talent on West Texas Mainstream Media.”

Moeller Student Paper

Keonyoung Park & Hyejin Kim, University of Minnesota for “Social Media for Socialization? The Mediation Role of Social Media on the Relationship be- tween Sex and Traditional Gender Values.”