PF&R Award

The Mass Communication and Society Division invites nominations for the Division’s newly-established Professional Freedom and Responsibility Award. This Award recognizes excellence in research, teaching or service related to the five PF&R principles identified by AEJMC. These principles are: the promotion of free expression; ethics; media criticism and accountability; racial, gender, and cultural inclusiveness; and public service.

The $500 award is open to any individual who has made significant contributions to scholarship in any of these five areas or has undertaken professional or service activities that promote excellence in any of the five areas. The research, service or professional activities could have been completed either during the preceding year or reflect work done over a longer period of time.

Nomination Procedures

All nominations, including self-nominations must include:

  • An application letter that outlines the applicant’s accomplishments and forms the basis for the nomination (Limit two pages)
  • Two letters of nomination from individuals who can speak to the values being upheld in research, service or teaching
  • The nominee’s CV

This information should be sent as ONE PDF. The applicant’s last name should be in the title of the file.

All material must be submitted electronically to the Awards Chair, Robert McKeever (, by 11:59 EST on April 30, 2018.

The winner is selected by the members of the PF&R committee and the Vice Head-Elect of the MCS Division. The winner will be recognized at the Awards Luncheon at the national conference.



2016: Bu Zhong, Penn State University