History Book Award

The History Division’s Book Award is awarded annually to the author of the best journalism and mass communication history book published in the previous year. Book authorship is defined as the person or persons who wrote a book rather than edited one. Compilations, anthologies, articles and monographs are not eligible for consideration for the award but do quality for consideration for the Covert Award.

Award recipients receive a plaque and a cash prize at the annual convention. Nominations are solicited in the spring each year.

Past Book Award winners
2014 Jinx Coleman Broussard, African American Foreign Correspondents: A History (Louisiana State University Press, 2013)

2013 Chris Lamb, Conspiracy of Silence: Sportswriters and the Long Campaign to Desegregate Baseball (University of Nebraska Press, 2012)

2012 Peter Hartshorn, I Have Seen the Future: A Life of Lincoln Steffens (Counterpoint, 2011)

2011 Richard R. John, Network Nation: Inventing American Telecommunications (Harvard University Press, 2010)

2010 Hugh Richard Slotten, Radio’s Hidden Voice: The Origins of Public Broadcasting in the United States (University of Illinois Press, 2009)

2009 Kathy Roberts Forde, Literary Journalism on Trial: Masson v. New Yorker and the First Amendment (University of Massachusetts Press, 2008)

2008 Bruce Lenthall, Radio’s America: The Great Depression and the Rise of Modern Mass Culture (University of Chicago Press, 2007)

2007 Ronald J. Zboray and Mary Saracino Zboray, Everyday Ideas: Socioliterary Experience among Antebellum New Englanders (University of Tennessee Press, 2006)

2006 Chad Raphael, Investigated Reporting: Muckrakers, Regulators, and the Struggle over Television Documentary (University of Illinois Press, 2005)

2005 Brian Ward, Radio and the Struggle for Civil Rights in the South (University Press of Florida, 2004)

2004 No award

2003 Joshua Brown, Beyond the Lines: Pictorial Reporting, Everyday Life, and the Crisis of Gilded Age America (University of California Press, 2002)

2002 Jeffrey Pasley, “The Tyranny of Printers”: Newspaper Politics in the Early American Republic (University Press of Virginia, 2001)

2001 John Hartsock, A History of American Literary Journalism: The Emergence of a Modern Narrative Form (University of Massachusetts Press, 2000)

2000 Jeffery A. Smith, War and Press Freedom: The Problem of Prerogative Power (Oxford University Press, 1999)

1999 Jane Rhodes, Mary Ann Shadd Cary: The Black Press and Protest in the Nineteenth Century (Indiana University Press, 1998)

1998 Patricia Johnston, Real Fantasies: Edward Steichen’s Photography (University of California Press, 1997)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *