Awards Guidelines


Edward Bliss Award Guidelines

The Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education is presented annually by the Electronic News Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. This award recognizes an electronic journalism educator who has made significant and lasting contributions to the field.

Criteria for nomination and selection –

  • Teaching: Evidence of long-standing excellent and innovative teaching and student engagement.
  • Service:  Evidence of leadership in professional or educational organizations such as AEJMC, RTDNA, SPJ, state broadcast news organizations and at the candidate¹s college or university.
  • Research:  Evidence of enhanced teaching and service through professional and/or academic writing and research including journal articles, articles in professional trade publications and creative work for broadcast.

Nominations are solicited from the broadcast media, professional organizations and associations and broadcast educators or students.
Letters of nomination should contain specific examples of each of the categories listed above.

The successful Bliss nomination packet will include:
1. A detailed, thorough letter of nomination.
2. A complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.
3. Supporting letters from students/former students.  These letters should be concise and limited to no more than seven.
4. Supporting letters from colleagues, collaborators or co-authors.  These should also be concise and limited to no more than seven.
5. Supporting materials including news coverage of awards and activities.  These materials should be VERY limited in number.
6. Examples of writing or other work by the nominee should not be included.

  • Do not include a statement by the nominee in support of your nomination.
  • Nominations will remain active with the Bliss selection committee for three years.The nominations will be reviewed by a committee selected by the Electronic News Division officers.
  • The award will be presented at the division business meeting at the international conference in Montreal, Quebec.
  • The recipient will receive a recognition plaque and a waiver of conference registration fees.
  • In addition, the recipient’s name will added to the permanent plaque housed at American University in Washington D.C, Ed Bliss’s university during his teaching career.

Larry Burkum Service Award Guidelines
The Larry Burkum Service Award is presented by the Electronic News Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.  This award recognizes an electronic journalist or journalism educator who has demonstrated extraordinary service to journalism and to journalism education.

Honorees may be selected in one of two ways – either through nomination presented to the selection committee (comprised of past EN Division Heads and Burkum Award Winners), or directly by the committee itself. Both paths must follow the procedure outlined below. The EN Division is not obligated to name an honoree annually; the award may be conferred when an appropriate honoree is found, and if the committee finds none of the nominees is worthy of the award, the committee can elect not to confer the honor, however, as a general guideline, it is expected that an honoree would be named at least once every three years.

Criteria for nomination and selection include strong evidence of significant service contributions to journalism education and to the electronic news industry. Examples of service may include, but are not limited to the following exemplars:  Heading a national organization dedicated to advancing journalism and journalism education. Publishing journalism focused work (e.g., articles for news industry related websites, textbooks, videos). Developing and administering foundations that assist journalism students and educators in their growth and development (e.g., scholarship, foundations, etc.). Leading educational initiatives within the nominee’s industry (e.g., head of internship development for station group; running a student focused apprenticeship program, etc.). Research designed to help students and young journalists advance their career performance in journalism, and extraordinary service to the mission of the Electronic News Division.

The successful Burkum nomination packet will include a detailed, thorough letter of nomination; a complete resume/cv of the nominee; up to three supporting letters from educators/and/or colleagues, however, a statement by the nominee in support of his or her nomination should not be included. Nominations will remain active for three years.

The Burkum award selection committee shall be appointed by EN Division Head, and committee members shall serve 2-3 year terms. Nominations should be submitted to and compiled by the selection committee no later than February 1st. The committee shall review the nominations and announce the name of an award recipient (or that there is none) by May 1st before the annual convention in August.

Top Faculty and Student Papers

Refereed research papers submitted to the annual AEJMC conference will be considered for awards, typically presented at the Division’s business meeting during the conference. The top faculty paper is awarded based on the cumulative scores of reviewers. Faculty papers can be co-authored by students.

The top student paper is also awarded based on the cumulative scores of reviewers in the student category. Note: to be considered for a student paper award, the paper must be authored by current graduate students. Papers with faculty co-authors are not eligible for the top student paper award. This is in accordance with AEJMC’s policies.