STATIC Fall 2017

The fall edition of the Electronic News Division newsletter, Static, is here! Inside, we recap the annual conference in Chicago with stories, photos, and a bit of official business. In the present, we have articles on covering mass shootings and the state of journalistic freedom and responsibility. Finally, we look ahead to 2018 with a number of award and paper calls.

Open the newsletter here.

Posted in Most recent, Newsletter | Leave a comment

[Award Call] 2018 Larry Burkum Service Award

Nominations are due Feb. 1, 2018, for AEJMC’s Larry Burkum Service Award from the Electronic News Division. This award recognizes an electronic journalist or journalism educator who has demonstrated extraordinary service to journalism and to journalism education.

Honorees may be selected in one of two ways – either through nomination presented to the selection committee (comprised of past EN Division Heads and Burkum Award Winners), or directly by the committee itself. The committee is chaired by Tim Brown, Univ. of Central Florida (contact info below).

Criteria for nomination and selection include strong evidence of significant service contributions to journalism education and to the electronic news industry. Examples of service may include, but are not limited to the following exemplars:

  • Heading a national organization dedicated to advancing journalism and journalism education.
  • Publishing journalism focused work (e.g., articles for news industry related websites, textbooks, videos).
  • Developing and administering foundations that assist journalism students and educators in their growth and development (e.g., scholarship, foundations, etc.).
  • Leading educational initiatives within the nominee’s industry (e.g., head of internship development for station group; running a student focused apprenticeship program, etc.).
  • Research designed to help students and young journalists advance their career performance in journalism, and extraordinary service to the mission of the Electronic News Division. Continue reading
Posted in Awards, Burkum Award | Leave a comment

[Award Call] 2018 Edward L. Bliss Award

Nominations are due Feb. 15, 2018, for AEJMC’s Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education.

The award is presented annually by AEJMC’s Electronic News Division and recognizes an electronic journalism educator who has made significant and lasting contributions to the field.  Criteria for nomination and selection:

  • Teaching: Evidence of long-standing excellent and innovative teaching and student engagement.
  • Service:  Evidence of leadership in professional or educational organizations such as AEJMC, RTDNA, SPJ, BEA, state broadcast news organizations and at the candidate’s college or university.
  • Research:  Evidence of enhanced teaching and service through professional and/or academic writing and research including journal articles, articles in professional trade publications and creative work for broadcast.

Nominations are solicited from the broadcast media, professional organizations and associations, and broadcast educators or students.  Letters of nomination should contain specific examples of each of the categories listed above. Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Bliss Award | Leave a comment

[Paper Call] 2018 AEJMC Southeast Colloquium

2018 AEJMC Southeast Colloquium
Call for Papers, Panels and Research-in-Progress Abstracts

Authors are invited to submit research papers, panel proposals and/or research-in-progress abstracts for the 43rd Annual AEJMC Southeast Colloquium, which will be held March 8-10, 2018 at The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, Ala.   Authors should prepare submissions as either Microsoft Word or PDF file and submit them to the following link:

All submissions must be completed by no later than 11:59 p.m. CST on December 11, 2017. Submissions must be original and must not have been previously presented at a conference.  Students and faculty should indicate their status for consideration of faculty and student top paper awards. Do not include any author identifying information on any page of the paper submission. Authors also should redact identifying information from the document properties. On the cover page of the attached paper, only the title of the paper should appear. Following the cover page, include a 250-word abstract. Length of papers should not exceed 30 pages including references and tables (50 pages for Law and Policy papers).

The author of each accepted paper (at least one author in the case of a co-authored paper) must present the paper at the Colloquium or it will not be listed in the final program. Acceptance and/or submission of papers to colloquium paper competitions does not prevent authors from submitting to AEJMC divisions for the AEJMC Annual Conference in August. Complete contact information and a complete list of (all) authors must be submitted with other material (and on deadline) or a paper will be disqualified. For online instructions on “how to submit a clean paper” for blind review, see this link. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by early February 2018.    In the meantime, read more about the event at the Colloquium website at Continue reading

Posted in Conference | Leave a comment

Electronic News highlights from AEJMC 2017

Ken Fischer, University of Oklahoma, accepts the 2017 Edward L. Bliss Award at NBC-WMAQ in Chicago. Photo by Becky Nee.

The Electronic News Division made the most of the 100th annual AEJMC conference in Chicago. Look for expanded coverage in our conference-wrapup edition of Static. For now, enjoy our crowdsourced coverage, as well as official releases and reports from the division.

Posted in AEJMC 2017 Chicago, Conference, Membership, News, Reports | Leave a comment