Barrow Minority Doctoral Student Scholarship

Call for 2017 Barrow Minority Scholarship Applications

Applications are now being accepted for the 2017 Barrow Minority Doctoral Student Scholarship. The scholarship includes a cash award and a free one-year membership in the Communication Theory and Methodology Division (CT&M) of AEJMC.

The scholarship honors the late Professor Lionel C. Barrow, Jr., of Howard University, in recognition of his pioneering efforts in support of minority education in journalism and mass communication. Reflections on Dr. Barrow from previous scholarship winners are available in the spring editions of CT&M Concepts, available at The award is designed to aid doctoral students in journalism or mass communication programs to complete their dissertation research and academic studies. The student’s work does not need to address issues of race or ethnicity.

The award is sponsored by the CT&M Division and is made possible in part through contributions from the Minorities and Communication Division, the Commission on the Status of Minorities, the Mass Communication and Society Division, and personal donations.

Racial or ethnic minority students who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents and are enrolled in a Ph.D. program in journalism or mass communication are welcome to apply. Applicants need not be members of AEJMC or the CT&M Division.

Applications will be evaluated on the basis of each candidate’s capacity for making significant contributions to communication theory and methodology. To be considered for this scholarship, please provide the following: (1) a letter outlining research interests and career plans, (2) a curriculum vitae, and (3) two letters of recommendation. The letter and CV should be sent via e-mail to Dr. Brett Sherrick, Membership Chair, The letters of recommendation should be sent directly by the recommender to the same email address. Letters of recommendation only may be sent via regular mail if that is the preference of the recommender; letters can be mailed to Dr. Brett Sherrick, CT&M Membership Chair, Box 870172, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487.

Submissions must be emailed (or postmarked) no later than May 1, 2017. Questions may be addressed to Dr. Sherrick at

The scholarship will be awarded at the 2017 AEJMC Conference in Chicago, August 9-12.

Past winners:

2016 Adrienne Muldrow, Washington State University
2015 Diane B. Francis, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2014 Jenny Korn, University of Illinois, Chicago
2013 Dominique Harrison, Howard University
2012 Rowena Briones, University of Maryland
2011 Adrienne Chung, Ohio State
2010 Eulàlia Puig Abril, Wisconsin-Madison
2009 Emily Elizabeth Acosta, Wisconsin-Madison
2008 Troy Elias, Ohio State
2007 Yusur Kalynago, Jr., Missouri
2006 Omotayo Banjo, Pennsylvania State
2005 Jeanetta Simms, Central Oklahoma
2004 Susan Chang, Michigan State
2003 T. Keith Gaither, North Carolina
2002 Mia Moody-Hall, Texas at Austin
2001 George Daniels, Georgia
2000 Maria E. Len-Rios, Missouri
1999 Meredith Lee Ballmer, Washington
1998 Osei Appiah, Stanford University
1997 Alice Chan Plummer, Michigan State
1996 Dwayne Proctor, Connecticut
1995 Dhavan Shah, Minnesota
1994 Qingnen Dong, Washington State
1993 Shalini Venturelli, Colorado
1991 Diana Rios, Texas at Austin
1990 Jose Lozano
1989 Jane Rhodes, North Carolina
1987 James Sumner Lee, North Carolina
1985 Barbara McBain Brown, Stanford
1983 Dianne L. Cherry, North Carolina
1982 Tony Atwater, Michigan State
1981 Sharon Bramlett, Indiana
1980 Federico Subervi, Wisconsin-Madison
1979 Gillian Grannum, North Carolina
1978 Paula Poindexter, Syracuse
1977 John J. Johnson, Ohio
1975 Norman W. Spaulding, Illinois
1974 Rita Fujiki, Washington
1973 William E. Berry, Illinois
Clay Perry, Indiana
Sherrie Lee Mazingo, Michigan State
1972 Richard Allen, Wisconsin-Madison (first)