Monthly Archives: May 2016

(Self-)Nominate for the 2016 CSW Awards for Advocates, Faculty & Graduate Students

CSW logo color croppedDon’t forget to nominate someone worthy (self-nominations accepted!) for one of our CSW awards! Deadline is coming up soon – May 17th. 
**DONNA ALLEN AWARD for Feminist Advocacy**
The Donna Allen Award recognizes feminist advocacy by a woman or group. This award honors Donna Allen, founder of the Women’s Institute for Freedom of the Press in Washington, D.C. Submissions should demonstrate how the nominee’s feminist media activism promotes the rights and freedoms of women and minorities across the world. Nominees need not be AEJMC members. $100 awarded to the winner.
**Outstanding Woman in Journalism and Mass Comm. Education**

This award honors a woman who has represented women well through excellence and high standards. Nomination letters must detail that individual’s contributions to journalism and mass communication education. $100 awarded to the winner.
**MARY ANN YODELIS SMITH AWARD for Feminist Scholarship**
Applications are invited for the Mary Ann Yodelis Smith (MAYS) Award which funds feminist scholarship that has the potential to make significant contributions to the literature of gender and media. First presented in 1995, it honors Mary Ann Yodelis Smith, a past president of AEJMC and longtime advocate for women in the academy. Applicants should send a five-to-seven page description of the project and its potential contribution to the scholarship on gender and the media and a brief one-page description of the applicant(s)’ qualifications for undertaking the project. A three-person panel, including a past recipient of the award, judges applications. $500 awarded to the winner.
**MARY GARDNER AWARD for Graduate Student research**
Graduate students who conduct research on women in journalism and mass communication are invited to apply for the Mary Gardner Award. This award is designed to fund research that has the potential to make an excellent contribution to the scholarship on women and journalism and mass communication. The award honors Mary Gardner, professor emeritus at Michigan State University and the first woman elected president of AEJMC. Applicants should send a 3-5 page description of the project, it’s potential contribution and the application’s qualifications for undertaking the project. A three-person panel judges the applications. $250 awarded to the winner.
Send all applications to Jaime Loke at

Deadline for applications is May 17, 2016