Monthly Archives: June 2015

Sign up for our Networking Luncheon at AEJMC in San Francisco!

Judy-VanSlyke-Turk-Photo-800-200x300Only a few more days to register for the early bird rate for AEJMC in San Francisco!

When you register, don’t forget to register for the CSW Mentoring & Networking Luncheon on Saturday, August 8, 12-1.30 p.m.

We will enjoy a catered lunch and guest speaker Judy VanSlyke Turk will discuss the latest Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women benchmark study on the status of women in communication. More details on this important research initiative on the Kopenhaver Center website. Hope to see you all at the luncheon!

Judy VanSlyke Turk, PhD, APR, Fellow PRSA, is Professor Emerita in the Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture (formerly the School of Mass Communications) at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU). She retired from VCU as a professor of public relations in May 2013. During the 2014-2015 academic year, she was a visiting professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Florida International University (FIU). She maintains an association with FIU as a research fellow in the university’s Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication.

Congratulations to Our 2015 CSW Awards Winners!

CSW logo color croppedWe are delighted to announce this year’s CSW award winners who will receive their prizes during the annual AEJMC conference, which this year takes place in San Francisco August 5-9.

Dustin Harp receives this year’s Mary Ann Yodelis Smith Award for Feminist Scholarship. The award recognizes feminist scholarship that has the potential to make significant contributions to the literature of gender and media. First presented in 1995, it honors Mary Ann Yodelis Smith, a past president of AEJMC and long-time advocate for women in the academy. $500 are awarded to the winner.

Julie Andsager receives the CSW Outstanding Woman in Journalism and Mass Communication Education Award. This award honors a woman who has represented women well through excellence and high standards. $100 are awarded to the winner.

Tania Rosas-Moreno receives the Donna Allen Award for Feminist Advocacy. The Donna Allen Award recognizes feminist advocacy by a woman or group. This award honors Donna Allen, founder of the Women’s Institute for Freedom of the Press in Washington, D.C. $100 are awarded to the winner.

Stephanie Madden receives the Mary Gardner Award for Graduate Student Research. This award is designed to fund research that has the potential to make an excellent contribution to the scholarship on women and journalism and mass communication. The award honors Mary Gardner, professor emeritus at Michigan State University and the first woman elected president of AEJMC. $250 are awarded to the winner.