Monthly Archives: May 2015

2015 Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Woman Junior Scholar Award

Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 2.50.42 PM




Nominate yourself or someone else! Deadline: June 1, 2015.

Nominations are now being taken for the second annual Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Award honoring a woman junior scholar who demonstrates outstanding research and potential for future scholarship.

Sponsored by The Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, this recognition is designed to honor junior faculty researchers and encourage them as they pursue their research agendas in the academy.

The 2014 winner was Brooke Erin Duffy, an assistant professor at Temple University’s School of Media and Communication.

To nominate a scholar, please send a letter outlining her qualifications, a one-page summary of her research agenda, and a curriculum vita. Self-nominations are accepted.

The winner will be honored with a check for $250 and a plaque at a reception on Aug. 4, 2015, at the AEJMC conference in San Francisco. Kopenhaver, dean emeritus and professor at Florida International University’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication, will present the award.

A three-judge panel will choose the winner.

Please send any questions and award nominations by June 1, 2015, to Tracy Everbach,


DEADLINE EXTENDED for ALL 2015 CSW Awards (Self)Nominations

CSW logo color croppedThe deadline for receipt of applications for all awards is May 24, 2015.

Call for Mary Gardner Award for Graduate Student Research. Graduate students who conduct research on women in journalism and mass communication are invited to apply for the Mary Gardner Award. This award is designed to fund research that has the potential to make an excellent contribution to the scholarship on women and journalism and mass communication. The award honors Mary Gardner, professor emeritus at Michigan State University and the first woman elected president of AEJMC. Applicants should send a three-to-five page description of the project and it s potential contribution and the application’s qualifications for undertaking the project. A three-person panel judges the applications. $250 awarded to the winner.

Call for Mary Ann Yodelis Smith Award for Feminist Scholarship. Applications are invited for the Mary Ann Yodelis Smith (MAYS) Award which funds feminist scholarship that has the potential to make significant contributions to the literature of gender and media. First presented in 1995, it honors Mary Ann Yodelis Smith, a past president of AEJMC and long-time advocate for women in the academy. Applicants should send a five-to-seven page description of the project and its potential contribution to the scholarship on gender and the media and a brief one-page description of the applicant(s)’ qualifications for undertaking the project. A three-person panel, including a past recipient of the award, judges applications. $500 awarded to the winner.

Call for Donna Allen Award for Feminist Advocacy. The Donna Allen Award recognizes feminist advocacy by a woman or group. This award honors Donna Allen, founder of the Women’s Institute for Freedom of the Press in Washington, D.C. Submissions should demonstrate how the nominee’s feminist media activism promotes the rights and freedoms of women and minorities across the world. Nominees need not be AEJMC members. $100 awarded to the winner.

Call for Outstanding Woman in Journalism and Mass Communication Education
This award honors a woman who has represented women well through excellence and high standards. Nomination letters must detail that individual’s contributions to journalism and mass communication education. $100 awarded to the winner.

DIRECTIONS FOR APPLYING:   Please send applications and nomination letters electronically to Dr. Katie Place, CSW Chair at Please feel free to contact Dr. Place via e-mail or phone at 703-268-6147 if you have any questions. Again, the deadline for receipt of all applications is May 24, 2015.


Feminist Media Research — Call for Book Chapters: Deadline August, 31

Feminist Media Research in the 21st Century (working title)

Chapter proposal submission deadline: August 31, 2015 (500-1,000 words)

Dustin Harp, Ph.D., University of Texas at Arlington
Jaime Loke, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Ingrid Bachmann, Ph.D., Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

The book offers a space to deliberate the intersections of feminism within the broad fields of communication and media research, opening for discussion the evolving state of contemporary feminism. In recent mediated discourse the term “feminism” is being used to describe diverse people and ideas, including U.S. female political figures from a Christian conservative (Sarah Palin) to a moderate (Hillary Clinton). While many people, especially younger women, have disassociated with the term, others have whittled down the meaning to one that simply offers women choices (the so-called “right to choose”). In fact, the usefulness of feminism in contemporary society is being questioned. Feminism, it seems, is a more complex, contested, and fractured concept than ever before.

This edited volume is an opportunity to consider and illustrate the state of feminist media theory, research, and critical thinking. The intention is to confront questions including “What is feminism and feminist research?” and “Who is allowed to define it or police the boarders of feminism?”

The volume may include theoretical chapters, critical essays, and original research related to feminism within the context of communication and the broad media landscape – from news to entertainment, traditional media to social media, and corporate media to independent media.

In considering the state of feminism, feminist communication and media research, critical essays and research might address the following:

  • How is feminism understood in contemporary popular discourse?
  • Has “feminism” lost its power, as it has become too many things to too many people?
  • What exactly does it mean to conduct feminist research?
  • Is feminism still relevant and essential to research today?
  • What does it means to be a feminist scholar in 2015?
  • How are feminist scholars building feminist theory?
  • What areas of communication and media are gaining or maintaining the attention of media scholars?

We invite authors to submit chapter proposals of 500-1,000 words for competitive review. We are particularly interested in a wide diversity of perspectives, approaches and areas within the vast field of communication and media. All methodological approaches are welcomed. We are especially interested too in authors who can contribute to an international perspective.

In addition to the chapter proposal, please submit a bio of each author of no longer than 200 words that includes, (a) highest degree earned and the institution from which it was earned, (b) most recent publications, and (c) areas of scholarly interests and expertise.

The editors will review all submissions and select authors who will be invited to submit a full chapter manuscript. Abstracts and manuscripts must be in English.

For inquiries contact Dustin Harp at

Submit chapter proposals by email to: Jaime Loke at