Monthly Archives: February 2014

Spring edition of CSW Newsletter is out

Hello members,

The spring newsletter is published!

It’s full of information about the AEJMC Midwinter Conference in Norman, OK (that’s next week!), the call for proposals for the summer conference, a call for submissions for National News Engagement Day ideas, the history of Media Report to Women, a new award for junior faculty members from the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center and a call for applicants to the CSW/Kopenhaver Center pre-conference workshop. Get cozy with some hot cocoa, a blanket or a fur baby, and enjoy the newsletter.

Here’s the link for the Issuu publication of the newsletter.

I hope you all are well. Remember, spring break is coming soon!


AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award: Call for Nominations

AEJMC asked us to share this Call for Nominations.

The AEJMC is seeking nominations (applications and self-nominations are welcome) for the 2014 AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award, which recognizes academic units that are working toward, and have attained demonstrable success in increasing equity and diversity.

Read the award call at

The application deadline is 5 p.m. Eastern time, March 18, 2014.
Please address any questions to: Deb Aikat , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

2014 Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Woman Junior Scholar Award

The Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University, in conjunction with the Commission on the Status of Women of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, announce a new award to be presented annually: the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Woman Junior Scholar Award.

Nominations are now being taken for a new award honoring a woman junior scholar who demonstrates outstanding research and great potential for future scholarship. The Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women announce the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Award. This recognition is designed to honor junior faculty researchers and encourage them as they pursue their research agendas in the academy.

To nominate a scholar, please send a letter outlining the scholar’s qualifications, a one-page summary of her research agenda and a curriculum vita. Self-nominations will be accepted.

The winner will be honored with a check for $250 and a plaque at a reception on Aug. 6, 2014, at the AEJMC conference in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Please send any questions and nominations by June 1, 2014, to Tracy Everbach, 

CSW & Lilian Lodge Kopenhaver Fellowship for Pre-Conference for 2014 AEJMC Conference Montreal

“Finding Your Leadership Voice in the Academy” 

Looking for some advice and mentorship on being a leader in academia?
Join us for the second annual pre-conference workshop sponsored by the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Council of Affiliates.
This program is designed to help junior faculty members move forward in their careers through mentoring, networking and preparing for tenure and/or administration or other leadership positions. It is designed for tenure-track women, but some exceptions may be made. We are seeking a cohort of women for our workshop from 1-5 p.m. on Aug. 6, 2014, at the AEJMC conference in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
Applicants must be AEJMC members. Speakers will include senior scholars, administrators and women colleagues who have achieved significant leadership positions in their careers.
Keynote speaker is Diane McFarlin, former publisher of the Sarasota Herald-Tribune newspaper and current dean of the University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications. The workshop also will include round table discussions and panels on leadership featuring women managers and administrators. In addition to the training and networking at this workshop, participants who are selected will be invited to take part in activities of both the CSW and the Kopenhaver Center during the year and receive publications of both groups. An opportunity will be provided for the cohort to reunite at subsequent conventions. Last year’s cohort will attend a meeting and reception along with the new fellows.
Please return this form by June 1, 2014 to Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver, FIU School ofJournalism and Mass Communication, Questions? Contact Dr.Kopenhaver or Dr. Tracy Everbach, 
You can find the application form here.