Another Banner Year for ComSHER Submissions

by Rachel Young, Research Chair

This year ComSHER received 124 research paper submissions, on par with the 129 received in 2016. By adding an additional paper session and poster session, we were able to accept 70 papers. We had a particularly strong year for student submissions, with 34 student-only papers, 17 of which were accepted.

Many thanks to the 104 reviewers who read and ranked the submissions. Each paper received three reviews, with the highest scores winning top paper honors. ComSHER Chair Anthony Dudo will moderate the top paper panel from 5:15 to 6:45 p.m. on Friday. This year, our top papers span the domains of health, environment, and risk:

First Place Faculty Paper
Risk as Anxiety in Mental Illness: Negative Emotions, Coping Responses, and Campaign Engagement Intention
Jiyoung Lee and Hua Jiang, Syracuse

Second Place Faculty Paper
Exploring the Effects of Character and Cued Typicality in Health Narratives
Jiangxue (Ashley) Han and Shanshan Lou, Appalachian State University

Third Place Faculty Paper
Promoting Multivitamins to College Women: An Examination of Source, Message, and Audience Characteristics
Jennifer Ball, Temple University, Allison Lazard, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Michael Mackert, University of Texas

Fourth Place Faculty Paper
Communicating the Flood: The Role of Communication During Extreme Weather Events in Shaping Climate Change Engagement
Ashley Anderson, Colorado State University

Eason Prize Winner/Top Student Paper
Do Narratives Attenuate Message Resistance? A Meta-Analysis
Chelsea Ratcliff, University of Utah

Twenty more papers will be presented in paper sessions on risk communication during outbreaks and health misinformation online (Wednesday), climate communication (Thursday), and health campaigns (Saturday). Forty-five papers will be presented as posters at scholar-to-scholar sessions at 5 pm on Thursday and 12:15 p.m. on Friday. We’re looking forward to lots of great discussions in Chicago. Thanks again to the reviewers who make this massive undertaking possible!